Thursday Poker Blog! The Perfect Storm

Welcome back to your Thursday Poker Blog!  Last night was my weekly Wednesday home game, where my friends and I typically play two mid-stacked sit-n-go tournaments.  After a disappointing out-of-the money 4th place finish in Game 1 caused by QQ losing to AJ suited with all the money in pre-flop, I was having a relatively listless Game 2 when it happened….

I have Q9 offsuit in the small blind, everyone folds to me, I limp in against my longtime rival and one of my best friends, who politely checks.  The flop bring JT8 rainbow.  Perfection sitting in front of me, I check as if I can’t wait to just get this crappy hand over with.  My aggressive friend puts out a pot-sized bet.  I look at my cards, wincing as if I suspect him of stealing this pot, and throw in my call.  The turn brings a 3, still no flush possibilities.  Again, the perfect card (pairing the board or having a 9 or Q hit would have possibility improved my friend’s hand beyond mine or would have killed the action).  I check again.  My friend now hurls another pot-sized bet, at which point I raise all-in, he instantly calls with JT (top two pair).  He winces in agony, does not improve on the river, and I scoop a huge pot.

Behold, boys and girls….   THE PERFECT STORM!!

The Perfect Storm is a thing of beauty because it requires not only for you to hit the board in a huge way, but for your opponent to also be lured into a “can’t fold in this format” type of hand.  The most basic perfect storms occur pre-flop when two players wind up all-in preflop duels such as AA v. KK, AA v. QQ, KK v. QQ, or when the blinds/chipstacks warrant, AA v. AK (recall I’m generally not a huge advocate of being all in preflop with AK).  More complex perfect storms occur post-flop, the above-example being a classic example.  Another beautiful aspect of these hands is that they require zero poker skill except to make sure that all the money gets into the pot.  Even the little acting job I described above had no impact on the hand as my friend had a great yet vulnerable hand, meaning he would have kept jamming his money into the pot no matter what I did short of exposing my cards.  My acting job was intended to work on someone holding nothing more than a pair in that situation, in fact now I’m annoyed that I wasted it!  😉  

Riding the Perfect Storm is easy, just tip your cap to the poker gods when it happens.  Next week we’ll discuss the more complex are of slow-playing the monster flop when your opponent (probably) does NOT have a great hand 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Poker Tips and Tales

3 Comments on “Thursday Poker Blog! The Perfect Storm”

  1. RHS Says:

    JT, and especially JT suited, is a sexy starting hand. Problem with it is when you hit two pair someone else could have a straight, of an open ended straight draw (with KQ or Q9) and if they hit you can’t get off your two pair…or in this instance, two peor. Damn you Salner!

  2. AJF Says:

    THAT’S POKUH


  3. Agree. KQ suited tends to win quite a bit. But AK suited is still my all time fav hand.


Leave a Reply

