Book Review- The Black Echo, by Michael Connelly (1992)

Welcome back to my blog!  Tuesday is my day to review a book, movie or restaurant.

Today I will be reviewing The Black Echo, by Michael Connelly.  Echo is the first of Connelly’s 14 novels featuring police detective Hieronymous “Harry” Bosch.  In full disclosure, followers should note that I am a sucker for a good fiction series.  Echo is the first book I have read from Connelly, a prolific fiction writer.

Echo introduces us to Bosch, a Hollywood detective infamous for his demotion from the LAPD robbery-homicide division after a questionable shooting of a serial murder suspect.  Bosch has since been demoted to the less glamourous Hollywood Homicide Division.  We learn about Bosch’s past as a Vietnam war veteran, specifically as a “tunnel rat,” a term for specialized soldiers tasked with underground searches through a maze of tunnels used as barracks, hospitals and morgues by the Vietcong.

Bosch’s past quickly revisits him as he is called out to investigate the death of fellow tunnel rat Billy Meadows, who we later learn transferred his tunnel rat skills to help execute an elaborate bank heist using similar underground methods.  Bosch deals with his investigation as well as personal and professional demons, as he is still under the strict watch of internal affairs due to his checkered past.

Connelly takes us through the intricate task of homicide investigation, showing us the irony between a detective’s equally indispensable tools of technology and intuition.

Readers should be impressed with Connelly’s research and story-telling ability.  However, I was somewhat disappointed with overly lengthy chapters and what I found to be some fairly predictable “twists.”

Echo is a quality read, and I will continue to work more Bosch novels into my rotation.  Not one of my favorites, though.

Stay tuned next Tuesday when I review a restaurant from my upcoming trip to Las Vegas!

Explore posts in the same categories: Pop Reviews

4 Comments on “Book Review- The Black Echo, by Michael Connelly (1992)”

  1. James O'Malley Says:

    It’s kind of like the twilight series only intended for the more mature audiences that actually lived through Vietnam, and without all the late teens love hystaria.

    Personnally not a fan of crime novels either though so take it for what its worth.

    • Craig Salner Says:

      Hey man, is this Kevin? Thanks for checking out my blog, hope all is great by you. Aside from being forced to watch the first Twilight movie, I never got too familiar with those books, so I never considered that comparison.

  2. Carolyn Says:

    Hey there!
    This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading your blog
    posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums
    that cover the same topics?
    Thank you!

  3. boxing Says:

    Normally I don’t learn article on blogs, however I
    would like to say that this write-up very
    compelled me to try and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, very nice article.


Leave a Reply

